The Children's Literature Web Guide

Australian Children's Book of the Year Award: 1997 Shortlists

Winners will be announced during Australian Children's Book Week, August 1997.

Book of the Year: Older Readers

*Steven Herrick, Love, Ghosts & Nose Hair: a verse novel for young adults (University of Queensland Press)

*Catherine Jinks, Pagan's Scribe (Omnibus Books)

*Victor Kelleher, Fire Dancer (Penguin Books Australia)

*David Metzenthen, Johnny Hart's Heroes (Penguin Books Australia)

*James Moloney, A Bridge to Wiseman's Cove (University of Queensland Press)

*Wendy Orr, Peeling the Onion (Little Ark/Allen & Unwin)

Book of the Year: Younger Readers

*Pamela Freeman (ill. Kim Gamble), Victor's Quest (Omnibus Books)

*Libby Gleeson (ill. Ann James), Hannah Plus One (Penguin Books Australia)

*Elizabeth Honey (ill. William Clarke), Don't Pat the Wombat (Little Ark/Allen & Unwin)

*Diana Kidd, I Love You, Jason Delaney (HarperCollins Publishers Aust.)

*Robin Morrow (comp.) (ill. Stephen Michael King), Beetle Soup (Scholastic Australia)

*Emily Rodda, Rowan and the Keeper of the Crystal (Omnibus Books)

Picture Book of the Year

*Bronwyn Bancroft (collected by Roland Robinson related by Percy Mumbulla), The Whalers (Harper Collins Publishers Aust.)

*Wayne Harris (text Allan Baillie), DragonQuest (Scholastic Australia)

*Elizabeth Honey, Not a Nibble (Little Ark/Allen & Unwin)

*Ann James (text Margaret Wild), The Midnight Gang (Omnibus Books)

*David Mackintosh (text Gillian Rubinstein), Sharon, keep your hair on! (Random House)

*Julie Vivas (text Ana Zamorano), Let's Eat! (Omnibus Books)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

*Janeen Brian, PILAWUK - When I was Young (Era Publications)

*Gordon Cheers and Julie Silk (ill. Marjorie Crosby-Fairhall), Killer Plants (Penguin Books Australia)

*Damien Lovelock (ill. Craig Smith), Soccer - great moments great players in world football (Little Ark/Allen & Unwin)

*Kellie McDonald, Antarctica (Reed Library - Cardigan St.)

*Weldon Owen Publishing, Reptiles (Little Ark/Allen & Unwin)

Back to the Children's Literature Awards Page
Sunday, May 25, 1997
Copyright © 1997 David K. Brown. All rights reserved
The Children's Literature Web Guide