Amelia Frances Howard-Gibbon Illustrator's Award

The Children's Literature Web Guide

Canadian Association of Children's Librarians

Established 1971. A medal presented annually for the best illustrated book for children published in Canada. The illustrator must be a citizen or resident of Canada.

*1998 - Barbara Reid, The Party. North Winds Press

Honour Book for 1998:

Pascal Milelli, Rainbow Bay (Text: Stephen Eaton Hume). Raincoast Books

*1997 - Harvey Chan. Ghost Train (Text: Paul Yee). Groundwood

*1996 - Karen Reczuch. Just Like New (Text: Ainslie Manson). Groundwood

Honour Book for 1996:

Janet Wilson. Selina and the Bear Paw Quilt (Text: Barbara Smucker). Lester

*1995 - Reid, Barbara. Gifts (Text: Jo Ellen Bogart)

*1994 - Yerxa, Leo. Last Leaf First Snowflake to Fall

*1993 - Morin, Paul. The Dragon's Pearl (Text: Julie Lawson)

*1992 - Lightburn, Ron. Waiting for the Whales (Text: Sheryl McFarlane)

*1991 - Morin, Paul. The Orphan Boy (Text: Tololwa M. Mollel)

*1990 - Denton, Kady MacDonald. Til All the Stars Have Fallen: Canadian Poems for Children (Editor: David Booth)

*1989 - LaFave, Kim. Amos's Sweater (Text: Janet Lunn)

*1988 - Gay, Marie-Louise. Rainy Day Magic

*1987 - Gay, Marie-Louise. Moonbeam on a Cat's Ear

*1986 - Nutt, Ken. Zoom Away (Text: Tim Wynne-Jones)

*1985 - Wallace, Ian. Chin Chiang and the Dragon's Dance

*1984 - Nutt, Ken. Zoom at Sea (Text: Tim Wynne-Jones)

*1983 - Climo, Lindee. Chester's Barn

*1982 - Woodall, Heather. Ytek and the Arctic Orchid: an Inuit Legend (Text: Garnet Hewitt)

*1981 - Tait, Douglas. The Trouble with Princesses (Text: Christie Harris)

*1980 - Gal, Laszlo. The Twelve Dancing Princesses (Text: Janet Lunn)

*1979 - Blades, Ann. A Salmon for Simon (Text: Betty Waterton)

*1978 - Cleaver, Elizabeth. The Loon's Neckace (Text: William Toye)

*1977 - Hall, Pam. Down by Jim Long's Stage: Rhymes for Children and Young Fish (Text: Al Pittman)

*1976 - Kurelek, William. A Prairie Boy's Summer

*1975 - Italiano, Carlo. The Sleighs of my Childhood/ Les traîneaux de mon enfance

*1974 - Kurelek, William. A Prairie Boy's Winter

*1973 - Roussan, Jacques de. Au dela du soleil/Beyond the Sun

*1972 - Takashima, Shizuye. A Child in Prison Camp

*1971 - Cleaver, Elizabeth. The Wind has Wings: Poems from Canada (Editors: Mary Alice Downie and Barbara Robertson)

Tuesday, October 20, 1998
Canadian Book Awards from:
The Children's Literature Web Guide

Copyright © 1994-1998 David K. Brown
Permission granted to reproduce this page for nonprofit educational purposes