Russell Clark Award

The Children's Literature Web Guide
Library and Information Association of New Zealand Aotearoa

Established 1976 in honour of the prominent New Zealand illustrator Russell Clark. First presented in 1978. Given for the most distinguished illustrations for a book for children or young adults.

*1998 - Sue Hitchcock-Pratt. Emily's wonderful pie (Text: Jane Cornish). Scholastic

*1997 - Murray Grimsdale. George's Monster (Text: Amanda Jackson). Learning Media

*1996 - Linda McClelland. The Cheese Trap (Text: Joy Cowley). Scholastic

*1995 - Chris Gaskin. Kotuku: The Flight of the White Heron (Text: Philip Temple)

*1994 - Kerry Gemmill. The Trolley (Text: Patricia Grace)

*1993 - Christine Ross. Lily and the Present

*1992 - Sandra Morris. One Lonely Kakapo

*1991 - David Elliot. Arthur and the Dragon (Text: Pauline Cartwright)

*1990 - Chris Gaskin. A Walk to the Beach

*1989 - Chris Gaskin. Joseph's Boat (Text: Caroline Macdonald)

*1988 - Dick Frizzell. The Magpies (Text: Denis Glover)

*1987 - Robyn Kahukiwa. Taniwha

*1986 - Pamela Allen. A Lion in the Night

*1985 - Robyn Belton. The Duck in the Gun (Text: Joy Cowley)

*1984 - Gwenda Turner. The Tree Witches

*1983 - No Award

*1982 - Gavin Bishop. Mrs. McGinty and the Bizarre Plant

*1980-1981 - No Awards

*1979 - Bruce Treloar. Kim

*1978 - Robert F. Jahnke. The House of the People (Text: Ron L. Bacon)

Wednesday, October 14, 1998
New Zealand Book Awards from:
The Children's Literature Web Guide

Compiled with information from Bill Nagelkerke
Copyright © 1994-1998 David K. Brown
Permission granted to reproduce this page for nonprofit educational purposes