University of Calgary Faculty of Humanities

HUMANITIES 200-03

Humanist Perspectives on Human Issues

FALL / WINTER, 2006 / 2007

COURSE OUTLINE

An introduction to central issues in the humanities through the close study of literary, religious, and philosophical works.

INSTRUCTOR: Eliezer Segal
OFFICE: Social Sciences 1314
PHONE: 220-6988
E-MAIL: eliezer.segal@ucalgary.ca
OFFICE HOURS: Thursday 10:00-11:00 a.m., and by appointment
COURSE TIME AND PLACE:

Monday, Wednesday, Friday 2:00-2:50 p.m.

Monday Lectures: Education Block 386

Tutorials: Social Sciences ST 061

REQUIRED TEXTS:

RECOMMENDED TEXT:

COURSE REQUIREMENTS

All assignments must be submitted for a passing grade. Late papers will lose a fraction of a grade per day unless you have notified me in advance, and we have agreed on an extension; e.g., an A paper submitted two days (not classes) late will become a B+. Papers may be submitted in class, or during office hours. Always make a copy of the assignments that you submit.

ComponentDue DateWeight
1500 word essay on Homer and the Hebrew Bible Wednesday, October 25 10%
1500 word esay on Apology or Republic I Wednesday, November 22 10%
1500 word essay on Candide, Hamlet or Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead Wednesday, January 24 10%
1500 word essay on Locke, Mrs. Dalloway, or Beloved Wednesday, March 21 10%
2000 word essay on a topic of your choice Wednesday, April 12 15%
Biweekly Food for Thought papers   10%
Class participation 5%
Library Workshop:
participation in the Library Workshop;
a graded workhop assignment
5%
Midterm examination (in-class, closed-book) Friday, December 8 5%
Final Examination Registrar scheduled 20%

SYLLABUS



FALL SEMESTER I

ATHENS AND JERUSALEM

Homer: The Odyssey

Monday 11 September Odyssey lecture I (A 140) Peter Toohey
Wed. 13 September Odyssey tutorial 1
Fri. 14 September Odyssey tutorial 2
Monday 18 September Odyssey lecture II Reyes Bertolin
Wed. 20 September Odyssey tutorial 3
Fri. 22 September Odyssey tutorial 4

Homer: The Iliad [excerpts]

(in HUMN 200 course pack)
Monday 25 September Iliad lecture James Hume
Wed. 27 September Iliad tutorial 1 PIZZA PARTY
(SS 1339)
Fri. 29 September Iliad tutorial 2

Genesis

Monday 2 October Genesis lecture Lyle Eslinger
Wed. 4 October Genesis tutorial 1  
Fri. 6 October Genesis tutorial 2

Samuel 1 (in full and 2 (excerpts)

Monday 16 October Samuel lecture Eliezer Segal
Wednesday 18 October Samuel tutorial 1
Friday 20 October Samuel tutorial 2

Plato: The Apology of Socrates

Monday 23 October Apology lecture Dennis McKerlie
Wed. 25 October Apology tutorial 1
Fri. 27 October Apology tutorial 2

Plato: Republic Book I

Monday 30 October Republic lecture Mark Migotti
Wed. 1 November Republic tutorial 1  
Fri. 3 November Republic tutorial 2

SATIRE, TRAGEDY, COMEDY

Voltaire: Candide

Monday 6 November Candide lecture Pierre-Yves Mocquais
Wed. 8 November Candide tutorial 1
Fri. 10 November Candide tutorial 2
 
Wed. 15 November Candide tutorial 3
Fri. 17 November Candide tutorial 4

Shakespeare, Hamlet

Monday 20 November Hamlet lecture Jim Black
Wed. 22 November Hamlet tutorial 1
Fri. 24 November Hamlet tutorial 2
Monday 27 November Hamlet, panel discussion Migotti, Segal
Wed. 29 November Hamlet tutorial 3
Fri. 1 December Hamlet tutorial 4

Tom Stoppard: Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead

Monday 4 December R & G are Dead lecture Barry Thorson
Wed. 6 December R & G are Dead tutorial 1
Fri. 8 December MIDTERM EXAM  

WINTER SEMESTER I

PHILOSOPHY, POLITICS, ECONOMICS

Fred Stenson: The Trade

Monday 8 January The Trade lecture Fred Stenson
Wed. 10 January The Trade tutorial 1
Fri. 12 January The Trade tutorial 2

Plato: Republic Books II-IV

Monday 15 January Republic Books II-IV panel discussion HUMN 200 faculty
Wed. 17 January Republic Books II-IV tutorial 1
Fri. 19 January Republic Books II-IV tutorial 2

John Locke: Second Treatise of Government

Monday, 22 January Locke lecture I Paul Viminitz
Wed. 24 January Locke tutorial 1
Fr. 26 January Locke tutorial 2
Monday, 29 January Locke lecture II Elizabeth Brake
Wed. 31 January Library Workshop Information Commons
Fri. 2 February Locke tutorial 3

NOVEL EXPERIENCES


Virginia Woolf: Mrs. Dalloway

Monday 5 February Mrs. Dalloway lecture Jon Kertzer
Wed. 7 February Mrs. Dalloway tutorial 1
Fri. 9 February Mrs. Dalloway tutorial 2
Monday 12 February Mrs. Dalloway and The Hours lecture Kirsten Pullen
Wed. 14 February Mrs. Dalloway tutorial 3
Fri. 16 February Mrs. Dalloway tutorial 4

Toni Morrison: Beloved

Monday 25 February Beloved lecture Adrienne Kertzer
Wed. 28 February Beloved tutorial 1  
Fri. 2 March Beloved tutorial 2
Monday 5 March Beloved tutorial 3
Wed. 7 March Beloved tutorial 4
Fri. 9 March Beloved tutorial 5

POWER, AUTHORITY, CORRUPTION

Plato: Republic V-VII

Monday 12 March Republic V-VII lecture Dennis McKerlie
Wed. 14 March Republic V-VII tutorial 1
Fri. 16 March Republic V-VII tutorial 2

Sophocles: Oedipus Rex

Monday 19 March Oedipus lecture TBA
Wed. 21 March Oedipus tutorial 1
Fri. 23 March Oedipus tutorial 2

Plato: Republic Books VIII-IX

Monday 26 March Republic Books VIII-IX lecture Janet Sisson
Wed. 28 March Republic Books VIII-IX tutorial
Fri. 30 March The Big Sleep tutorial 1

Raymond Chandler: The Big Sleep

Monday 2 April The Big Sleep Margaret Hadley
Wed. 4 April The Big Sleep tutorial 1

"THE OLD QUARREL BETWEEN PHILOSOPHY AND POETRY"
Plato: Republic Book X and Nietzsche excerpts

Monday 9 April Philosophy/Poetry lecture Mark Migotti
Wed. 11 April Philosophy/Poetry tutorial 1
Wed. 13 April Philosophy/Poetry tutorial 2

PLAGIARISM

Plagiarism is an extremely serious offence. Please read the following information carefully. The penalty routinely recommended for documented plagiarism is failure of the course in which the offence occurred; academic probation is also routinely applied at the Faculty level. Suspension or expulsion can result from severe or repeated plagiarism.

The University Calendar (page 53) states:

  1. Plagiarism - Essentially plagiarism involves submitting or presenting work in a course as if it were the student's own work done expressly for that particular course when, in fact, it is not. Most commonly plagiarism exists when:
    1. the work submitted or presented was done, in whole or in part, by an individual other than the one submitting or presenting the work (this includes having another impersonate the student or otherwise substituting the work of another for one's own in an examination or test),
    2. parts of the work are taken from another source without reference to the original author,
    3. the whole work (e.g., an essay) is copied from another source, and/or,
    4. a student submits or presents work in one course which has also been submitted in another course (although it may be completely original with that student) without the knowledge of or prior agreement of the instructor involved.

While it is recognized that scholarly work often involves reference to the ideas, data and conclusions of other scholars, intellectual honesty requires that such references be explicitly and clearly noted. Plagiarism is an extremely serious academic offence.

Plagiarism occurs when direct quotations are taken from a source without specific acknowledgement, or when original ideas or data from the source are not acknowledged. Citing your sources in a bibliography is not enough, because a bibliography does not establish which parts of a student's work are taken from other sources--MLA documentation or other recognized forms of citation must be used for this purpose. Advice on adequate documentation can be found in many writing guides.


Publication of Data from Library Assignments

If you agree, your research skills questionnaire and library assignments may be used anonymously for research purposes. This may include use in academic presentations and publications.

IMPORTANT DATES

FALL SESSION (Lectures) 2006

September 11 - December 8

22 September: Last day to change registration in full-year courses

WINTER SESSION 2007

January 8 - April 13

13 April: Last day to withdraw from full courses

ACADEMIC ACCOMMODATION

It is a student's responsibility to request academic accommodation. If you are a student with a disability who may require academic accommodation and have not registered with the Disability Resource Centre, please contact their office at 220-8237. Your academic accommodation letters should be provided to your instructor no later than fourteen (14) days after the commencement of this course. Students who have not registered with the Disability Resource Centre are not eligible for formal academic accommodation. (DRC web address is: www.ucalgary.ca, go to Campus Services, click on Disability Resource Centre). SAFEWALK Campus Security will walk you to your car, or the LRT, or to a building on campus. Call 220-5333. STUDENT UNION REPRESENTATIVES Student Union VP Academic phone number: 220-3911 and email: suvpaca@ucalgary.ca Student Union Faculty Rep. phone number: 220-3913 and email: humanitiesrep@su.ucalgary.ca

Click here to go to Eliezer Segal\'s Home PageReturn to Eliezer Segal's Home Page

Course offered by Eliezer SegalReturn to Eliezer Segal's Course List