Life Fellow of IEEE
Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada
Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering
Appointed University Professor July 1, 2007
Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, The University of Calgary
Registered Professional Engineer, The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta

A more complete list of Awards follows:
·     Awarded the Information Technology Association of Canada’s (ITAC’s) Strategic Microelectronics Council Outstanding Lifetime Service Award, for “Outstanding Service to the Canadian Microelectronics Industry”, Fall 2011.

·         Awarded the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA)  Frank Spragings Technical Award, 2008. This award is presented to Members of APEGGA who are recognized by their peers for their integrity and expertise and for their outstanding accomplishments in fields related to engineering, geology or geophysics.

·         Awarded the Schulich School of Engineering, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Graduate Education Award, January 2008.

·         Appointed University Professor (One of three awarded university wide in 2007), effective July 1 2007 for a 5 year period.

·         Awarded the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Research Excellence Award for 2005-2006.

·         Awarded Champion of the Schulich School of Engineering award for special service to the Faculty of Engineering, by Dr. S.C. Wirasinghe,  February 24th, 2005.

·         Elected a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering in June of 2005.

·         NSERC “25 Years of Excellence” recognition of important research achievements that have contributed to the sum total of human knowledge and the advancement of the economic and social well-being of Canadians over the 25 years of NSERC’s existence, 2004.

·         Awarded the TRLabs/iCORE/NSERC Industrial Research Chair for five years starting May 2002.

·         Elected a Fellow of IEEE in 2002 “For contributions to high temperature instrumentation and noise in solid state electronics”.

·         Elected a Fellow of EIC in 2001 “In recognition of excellence in engineering and for service to the profession and to society”.

·         President's Circle Award for Achievement in Teaching Excellence in 2002 ($5000 prize). This award can only been won once in a professor's career.

·         APEGGA Excellence in Education Award, “In recognition of exemplary contributions to teaching and dedication to the advancement of tomorrow’s professionals as professor, administrator and teacher”, 2003.

·         The Students' Union Teaching Excellence Award for the Faculty of Engineering, 1984, 1997, 2001.

·         Engineering Students’ Society Teaching Excellence Award for Electrical Engineering, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2001 and 2002.

·         Faculty of Engineering Teaching Excellence Award for Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2001.

·         Awarded  Faculty of Engineering Service Awards, 1999 and 2001.

·         Awarded  the Faculty of Engineering Research Excellence Award, 1998.

·         Awarded the 1980 Dow Chemical “Outstanding Young Faculty” award from the Pacific Northwest Section of the American Society for Engineering Education.

·         An instrument design for an electronic drill stem test recorder won a “Special Meritorious Award for Engineering Innovation” at the Houston Offshore Technology Conference, Spring 1978, from 130 entries. (with Dr. F.N. Trofimenkoff).

·         Invited to a dinner and reception, attended by Queen Elizabeth and Prince Phillip, “in recognition of young Canadians who have achieved excellence in the Arts and Sciences”, held in Ottawa, Oct. 17, 1977.