Norm's ENCM 369 L02 Home Page

Winter 2020

Norm Bartley


Watch here for notes to be posted following each of Norm's Winter 2020 lectures in ENCM 369 L02.


Please go to Steve Norman's ENCM 369 Home Page for 2020 course information. There, you'll find additional links to course documents, handouts, lab material, and his L01/T01/T02 lecture notes.


Norm's 2020 L02 Lecture Notes

Week 1 (Jan 13 - Jan 17)

Day Date Key Topics Notes
Mon Jan 13 A PowerPoint introduction to ENCM 369; organization of a simple computer. link
Wed Jan 15 Main memory, registers, memory reads/writes, sequences of machine instructions. link
Fri Jan 17 MIPS memory organization, registers, machine language, assembly language. link

Week 2 (Jan 20 - Jan 24)

Day Date Key Topics Notes
Mon Jan 20 More MIPS instruction examples, memory transfers, organizing MIPS registers. link
Wed Jan 22 Load and store instructions; accessing array elements; branching and jumping. link
Fri Jan 24 Comparisons, left-shifting, MIPS pseudoinstructions, procedure calling. link

Week 3 (Jan 27 - Jan 31)

Day Date Key Topics Notes
Mon Jan 27 Leaf and non-leaf procedures; the stack; handling $ra register conflicts. link
Wed Jan 29 Handling s-register and a-register conflicts; two ways to handle a-register conflicts. link
Fri Jan 31 Local variables on the stack; character arrays and strings; "little endian" byte addressing. link

Week 4 (Feb 03 - Feb 07)

Day Date Key Topics Notes
Mon Feb 03 Byte access continued; a string-copy procedure; character arrays on the stack. link
Wed Feb 05 Logic instructions (or, ori, lui, etc.); encoding of branch and jump instructions. link
Fri Feb 07 Compiling and building C programs; the gcc toolchain; object and executable files. link

Week 5 (Feb 10 - Feb 14)

Day Date Key Topics Notes
Mon Feb 10 The linker and relocation information; static and dynamic linking. link
Wed Feb 12 Signed and unsigned numbers in MIPS; four facts about 2's-complement. link
Fri Feb 14 2's-complement addition and signed overflow; the add/addu/addi/addiu instructions. link