The Children's Literature Web Guide

Newbery, Caldecott and other ALA Awards - 1996 Winners

The 1996 winners of the Newbery and Caldecott medals were announced January 22, 1996. For additional details, here is the American Library Association's Press Release.

Newbery Medal

Newbery Honor Books

Full list of Newbery Winners

Caldecott Medal

Caldecott Honor Books

Full list of Caldecott Winners

Coretta Scott King Author Award

Coretta Scott King Author Honor Books

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Books

Full List of Coretta Scott King Award Winners

Other Awards and Honors

Katherine Paterson will deliver the 1997 May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture (ALA's Press Release).

Uri Orlev, The Lady with the Hat (Houghton Mifflin) wins the Mildred L. Batchelder Award for outstanding translated book for children. Two Honor Books were named: Jo Hoestland, Star of Fear, Star of Hope (Walker & Co.), and Lutz van Dijk, Damned Strong Love: The True Story of Willi G. and Stephan K. (Henry Holt).

Judy Blume is the 1996 recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for Outstanding Literature For Young Adults (ALA's Press Release).

Paul R. Gagne wins the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Children's Video for Owen (Weston Woods), based on the book by Kevin Henkes (ALA's Press Release).

ALA Notable Book Lists

Check the Children's and Young Adult Notable Lists on our Best of 1995 roundup page.

Back to the Children's Literature Awards Page
22 January, 1996
Copyright © 1996 David K. Brown. All rights reserved
The Children's Literature Web Guide