The Children's Literature Web Guide

British Children's Book Awards

*The Carnegie Medal
*The Kate Greenaway Medal - For illustration
Library Association. Winners are dated for the year in which the book was published, and are announced in midsummer of the following year.

*The Guardian Award for Children's Fiction

*The Whitbread Children's Book of the Year

*Smarties Book Prize
Awards in three categories: Ages 9 to 11, 6 to 8, and 5 and under.

*Mother Goose Award
For an "exciting newcomer to British children's book illustration."

*Signal Poetry Award
Announced each year in the May issue of the journal Signal: Approaches to Children's Books.

Back to Children's Literature Awards
Thursday, March 13, 1997
Copyright © 1994-97 David K. Brown. All rights reserved
The Children's Literature Web Guide