The Children's Literature Web Guide

Canadian Children's Book Awards

*Canadian Library Association Book of the Year for Children
*CLA Young Adult Book Award
*The Amelia Frances Howard-Gibbon Illustrator's Award
Winners are announced annually at the Canadian Library Association conference (June/July).

*Governor General's Awards for Children's Literature
Awards for writing and for illustration, in English and in French. Shortlists are released annually in October, and winners are announced in mid-November.

*Mr. Christie's Book Awards
Sponsored by Christie Brown & Co. Awards to books in English and French. Winners are announced in the summer of each year.

*Canadian Information Book Award
Children's Literature Roundtables of Canada.

*The Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award
International Board on Books for Young People - Canadian Section.

*I.O.D.E. Violet Downey Children's Book Award
Imperial Order of Daughters of the Empire. Awarded to a book of over 300 words for readers aged 13 or under.

*The Vicky Metcalf Award
Canadian Authors Association. Awarded to an author for a body of work.

*The Ruth Schwartz Children's Book Award
Ontario Arts Council and Canadian Booksellers Association. Awarded to a book chosen by a jury of children.

*Geoffrey Bilson Award for Historical Fiction
Canadian Children's Book Centre.

*Vicky Metcalf Short Story Award
Canadian Authors Association.

Canadian Regional Awards

*Sheila A. Egoff Award
Best children's book by a British Columbia writer.

*R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature
Best children's book by an Alberta writer. Chosen by the Writers Guild of Alberta.

*Manitoba Young Reader's Choice Awards
Manitoba School Library Association. Selected by Manitoba young people in grades 4 through 8.

*The Silver Birch Awards
Ontario Library Association. Awarded to a Canadian book selected by Grade 4-6 students in Ontario.

*IODE (Toronto) Children's Book Award
Awarded to a Toronto-area writer or illustrator of an outstanding Canadian children's book.

*Ann Connor Brimer Award
Best children's book by a resident of the Atlantic Provinces.

Back to the Children's Literature Awards Page
Friday, June 6, 1997
Copyright © 1997 David K. Brown. All rights reserved
The Children's Literature Web Guide