The Children's Literature Web Guide

Ruth Schwartz Children's Book Award

Ontario Arts Council and Canadian Booksellers Association.

Established 1976, in honor of Ruth Schwartz, a Toronto bookseller. Presented annually for a Canadian book published during the previous year. The books are judged by children, from a short list compiled by booksellers. Beginning in 1994, two awards were given; one for a picture book, and one for a young adult (fiction or nonfiction) title.

Back to the Children's Literature Awards Page
Friday, May 2, 1997
Copyright 1994-97 David K. Brown. All rights reserved
The Children's Literature Web Guide